The house of Two Tides

The trip to Savannah was mainly family time, so had to sneak in the breweries when I could. Luckily, Two Tides Brewing was open until midnight on Sunday! Pretty late for a brewery, at least from what I’m used to.

Two Tides Brewing Company

As my dad and I arrived I thought the all-powerful Google had lied to me, but the cool thing about Two Tides is it’s located in a two-story house. The brewing takes place downstairs and the taproom is upstairs, which seemed awesome once I realized they were not actually closed. Love the house breweries, always feels so cozy. They utilize all the rooms so perfectly and have a patio area in the front and back of the house, you get to walk through large windows to get to them. Maybe some forgotten childhood memories or something, but felt nostalgic being there.

Back patio

Now Two Tides is the highest rated brewery in Savannah, but I came based on the recommendation of the awesome Erik Stone @oklastoneou (check out his Instagram page). I could insert a long rant about how much I love the craft beer community and how amazing everyone is, but I’ll spare you the million-word blog post this time. Feel free to message me though if you’re curious.
The best thing I could have seen was the fact that they had a barrel-aged stout on tap and mind you, my first day in Georgia, but I hadn’t seen a stout yet. Not only did they have a stout, but two and one was barrel-aged, I knew it was going to be a good night.
By now you know, I got a flight to start and my dad looked at me like I was a tad crazy, which made me laugh! Welcome to the adventure dad. Luckily, Two Tides had their Uber Light beer on draft that my dad actually liked. I mean thank you Two Tides for having a light lager, but dang am I good at finding one-offs that people will like.

As for me: I went with the Festbier, a Saison, Stout and the BA Stout in a quaint flight.

Flight Life

I quite enjoyed the barrel aged Ms. Suzanne since it was oaky, bitter dark chocolate, coffee and a tad boozy from the whiskey barrel. Really only at a 10.5% ABV so nothing overwhelming. To me it hit up front, mellowed out and then hit on the back end. Like a roller coaster of flavor “in the amusment land of beer.” Thanks Thomas for that second portion of the metaphor. (This came from Episode 4 of the Drink and Think Podcast) 4/5 in my book.

The Shadow People coffee stout had a similar dark bitter profile as Ms. Suzanne. They are both just dark, bold, coffee, bitter and a tinge boozy. Just how I like my coffee flavored stouts. 7% ABV means I can drink a few of these and be nice and happy! My dad actually thought this was pretty good since it just tasted like black coffee. 4.75/5… real close to one of my favorite bitter coffee stouts.

I picked up a 4 pack that I brought back and am just hoping the lovely people I shared with like it. An edit shall happen in the near future for their thoughts.

Draft board

The Saison D’deux Marées was just the right amount of funky. I straight up looked at my dad and said you will not like this, but he tried it anyway… I wish I would have recorded his reaction. Really can’t remember the fruit profile, but nice and fruity up front with that semi tart salty funky taste and left a wheat taste on the tongue. At a 6% ABV, it would do the trick after a while. 4/5 for me, but I’m into those weird funky beers.

The Fiestbier rounded off my flight with a nice clean, crisp and refreshing vienna lager. There is nothing over the top or surprising about this beer, but it’s a solid beer. This isn’t the style for bold flavors so I appreciate the art of going back to the basics. 5.8% ABV making it a warm all day drinking beer. 4.5/5 is how I was feeling on this one, but that might have been all the beer before.

Oslo 5.7% ABV

After those yummy coffee stouts, I wanted to end the night with something crushable and figured the Czech style lager was the way to go. Luckily I was not wrong, this beer is definetly a tad sweet for my taste due to the malts but a super easy drinker. Malty, yeast and crisp. That low ABV helped maintain my tipsy state and didn’t tip me over to drunk so I was happy. 3.5/5

In hindsight, going to the best brewery in town (according to Untappd ratings) was probably not the best first stop since my standards were set high for the rest of Savannah breweries, but it was super good! I would venture back to this place anytime and if I lived there would be a regular for sure.

The last thing I would like to mention is the usage of this claw foot bathtub made me so happy… normally I wouldn’t take pictures of a bathroom, but this was pretty cool!

One thought on “The house of Two Tides

Leave a comment